Introducing Yami

My name is Yamile and I’m from Bolivia. I’ve been living in Canada for more than 3 years now. I was blessed with an amazing husband and our first baby is on the way. When people ask me about Bolivia words like “fascinating”, “unique”, “beautiful” come to my mind.

When I was in Bolivia (that was the majority part of my life) I thought I was connected to the reality of my country, but realized I was totally blind to the poverty that surrounded me. Poverty was and might always be part of Bolivia.

Nowadays, when I think about the children in my country, the same ones who approach your car on the streets to clean your windshields, children who are screaming outside the “minibus” (public transportation) windows to get more passengers, or the ones who spend their whole day asking if you want to get your shoes shine… my heart breaks thinking that this wasn’t a choice for them.

I realize there are a lot of terrible things happening around us, but children who are the future of every nation are the most vulnerable in every situation. In Bolivia thousands of these children live in the streets and some of them in jails with their parents, exposed to other kind of dangers and abuses. The sad thing is that most of these children think that these situations are normal and even think that is how life was meant to be.

Today I see many organizations taking care of these needs and working hard to identify areas where they can help make their life better. Most of us think this is enough and that they have everything under control but this is not the case. It was one day that God call my attention through a Bible passage in Matthew 9:37-38 37 Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. 38 Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.” And it was through this passage that God spoke to me and ChildLight was the first thing that crossed my heart.

Alexis is a friend from University, not only a friend but also like a sister to me. In the last years of University I noticed her love and faith for our Lord Jesus Christ was growing, but it wasn’t until she moved with her husband to Pittsburgh that she started to become more in touch about her faith and plans for her life. One day she introduced me to this project and the desire of serving God and helping children in Bolivia. I now see clearly that God had a purpose in our friendship, a purpose that He is still working through this day.

Today God spoke into my heart again and it was through a missionary named George Grip who mentioned Isaiah 6:8 8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!” ….So I learned: You just need to be available for God…and for the rest… you and I will be amazed!!

One thought on “Introducing Yami

  1. I have no words to express how blessed I feel reading this. Thank you God for Yamile, Becca and Bettina’s friendship
    Love you girls!!!

Leave a Reply

