The Intersection of Our Hearts

Bettina, Alexis and I after our first ChildLight meeting together.

Bettina, Alexis and I after our first ChildLight meeting together.

Hello everyone,

My name is Bettina and I have just recently joined the ChildLight Team! I am a Master’s student in Public and International Affairs at the University of Pittsburgh. It’s my first year and it’s pretty daunting, but the passion I have for people in rough conditions (physically, emotionally, and spiritually) is getting me through the coursework.

Becoming a member of ChildLight could not have happened at a better time for me, because I can take what I learn in class and directly apply it to a project that will make a difference. I can also use the resources and network that Pitt’s Graduate School of Public and International Affairs (GSPIA) offers to build up ChildLight. Becca, Alexis and I have talked about it and ChildLight could not have happened at a better time for them, either. Becca is working alongside several Pittsburgh non-profits and is able to use them as a network base and Alexis has connections to the Bolivian government.  Together we can use our talents and connections to lay the foundations of the work God has called us to.

Isn’t it cool that God caused us to have the passions and positions that we have, have Pittsburgh as a commonality, and that He selected poverty in La Paz, Bolivia as the current work He wants us to undertake? None of us one day had a huge revelation from God saying “I want you to help at this food distribution center in La Paz.” God just led us each to it by our own passions for people, our connections and talents, and our positions in life. One of my favorite verses, my “life” verse if you will, is Colossians 3:17. It says, “Whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” We don’t have to worry about missing out on what God wants us to do! We just need to submit all we do to Him, listen for the Holy Spirit, and follow His ways. To do these things is to love God.

To all our lovely readers, be encouraged that when you do these things, God will redeem and bless your work for His purposes. He will lead you to the intersection of your heart with His, and with the hearts of others.

For His Glory,
Bettina

One thought on “The Intersection of Our Hearts

Leave a Reply

